Some Photos & Fancies

Photographs; & questions you wouldn't think to ask yourself…

Rainbows

7 Comments

02-05-12 02

There is no such thing as a standard rainbow, all rainbows are wonders of light and moisture. There are traditional rainbows, and we all know what someone means when they say they’ve seen a rainbow. These traditional rainbows have the possibility of good luck or money associated with them. It seems to me that not everyone should assume they are deserving of the good luck and good fortune possible upon finding the end of the rainbow. Those who have made an effort at anything positive or helpful to others should surely be the ones eligible to win the jackpot or pot of gold. Or perhaps it only takes a positive attitude and sunny disposition to able to win the prize. In any event, we cannot make those kinds of decisions – after all the luck and money associated with traditional rainbows is a purely random thing. In the back of our minds we’re always wondering, just a little, whether the luck or money might come our way.

04-30-12 018a Even if fortune doesn’t smile on us that way we are lucky enough to have a plenitude of other kinds of rainbows, too. Because of the properties of light and water rainbows can be seen almost anywhere the two are combined, with a light source added. Whether it be in a wave’s spray, though ice in a glass, or a droplet on a flower we see the same combination of colors in the same order. The newness and amazement are always present when a rainbow is spotted even if we’ve seen one only minutes before. Perhaps it is an unknowing, but realized function of our brains that is celebrating the fact that we can see at all.  Or perhaps it is the delight in harmonious color and something viewed in a normal place that is made extraordinary by a rainbow. It seems a shame that many animals cannot see what we are seeing. They can see in other spectrums, though, so maybe they can see their own rainbows, ones that we cannot see. Whatever really happens when rainbows appear they always seem to bring a touch of joy to the moment. Doesn’t a rainbow make your day feel a bit more special?

Author: EllenphanPhotos

I've been struck many times by the thoughts that run through my head when I'm outdoors and contemplating nothing in particular. The thoughts can be profound or silly, sad or joyful, relevant or not. But they're always there. And with just a bit of concentration they can lead to the most astonishing places and on the most convoluted trails. Exploring those vagaries and jigs and jogs is fun. I'm attempting to find more of these trails to see if they lead anywhere or nowhere, because even nowhere is somewhere. The bits and pieces of the outdoors help to make the indoors survivable. Photos help bring the outdoors in and remind me of many of the thoughts I had while still outside, a very valuable tool they are, too.

7 thoughts on “Rainbows

  1. Yes they do!! also I can see others lights that make my life happier 🙂

    • I’m glad; what other lights?

    • well you may not be aware of this or maybe you are, I have my gallery of pictures where I share pictures of “Orbs”, for a lot of people orbs are a lot more than a spec on the film, because you can’t think of nothing else but being a real “type of intelligence”. I can see them, not all the time, but when I establish a conversation with them, they slow down and sometimes they swirl around me or just fly through the house. At the beginning was very difficult for me I thought that I was losing, even today I have many questions, but I have learn to take ans appreciate what ever comes to my life. This conversation ( post) for most people is not possible, because belief. Thank you for asking, you are a beautiful person, I can tell that, very worry about create consciousness among the humans. Don’t give up, but there is something that you can do for you, explore yourself, if I say this is because every person that comes across my life has some grade of spiritual consciousness, don’t ask me why, it is that way.

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I am aware of orbs and how they can appear differently to each person, and what they can help us learn. In fact, I took some photos yesterday where some orbs appeared. I was amazed and delighted, they added to the photo and confirmed my thinking about them. In a way they are very like rainbows. And thank you for your comments about my consciousness; consciousness and attention is something we all need to practice every day.

  2. They are so random and fleeting. It is always a thrill to see one.

Reply if you like

