Some Photos & Fancies

Photographs; & questions you wouldn't think to ask yourself…

Who, me?

4 Comments

01-19-13 006a (3)

When someone calls or even says your name you as you’re walking down the street or are in a crowd you will most likely turn around or look around even if you happen to know that it can’t be you being called. And you’ll ask, who me? If someone really doesn’t want to be seen or doesn’t want to respond to someone else right then and they get spotted…they’ll ask, who, me? Or if someone has done something they’re not very proud of and gets caught…they’ll ask, who, me? There are many reasons to ask the question and they fall into to two categories: those who want to be called or recognized and those who don’t. The positive aspects of asking are visible and immediate if you choose to respond after the call and your response. You can then contribute to a project, help another, or greet a friend not seen for a while. Although one may not want them to be, the negative aspects are visible to others when you respond with incredulity, guilt, or reluctance in your voice. Once you’ve answered with your “who, me?” you’ve opened yourself up to a conversation that you will most likely find will continue whether you want it to or not.  If you are too busy or don’t like the person calling you, you do have the choice of not responding. But it’s very hard not to at least turn to ask if it is you being singled out for some purpose; it’s almost impossible not to  respond. Perhaps this is because we all want attention whether it is positive or negative attention. There seems to be a visceral or deeply ingrained response mechanism that prompts one to ask if one is wanted for some purpose that has the words out of our mouths before we can make a conscious decision. Though there are times we may wonder why we responded, we’re probably better off having done so; if we hadn’t responded we would never know what we may have missed by not responding. Curiosity and openness about new or even familiar things can’t help but put us is a position to learn and grow. Don’t you think almost anything could happen when you answer Who, me? to a call?

Author: EllenphanPhotos

I've been struck many times by the thoughts that run through my head when I'm outdoors and contemplating nothing in particular. The thoughts can be profound or silly, sad or joyful, relevant or not. But they're always there. And with just a bit of concentration they can lead to the most astonishing places and on the most convoluted trails. Exploring those vagaries and jigs and jogs is fun. I'm attempting to find more of these trails to see if they lead anywhere or nowhere, because even nowhere is somewhere. The bits and pieces of the outdoors help to make the indoors survivable. Photos help bring the outdoors in and remind me of many of the thoughts I had while still outside, a very valuable tool they are, too.

4 thoughts on “Who, me?

  1. Hi Ellen! I’m guessing you already know that I publish a digital magazine version of my blog Junsjazz Images & Inspiration of which five issues are already online. Its not a commercial magazine, just another online project of mine, an offshoot of my blogging. I plan to release the latest issue by end of February and I’d like to devote a spread for a guest photographer to showcase his/her works (probably 5 to 6 images). Some 12 photo bloggers have already been featured in the past three issues. I would be honored to have your amazing works presented in Issue #6, if it is alright with you. Of course there will be backlinks to your blog and full credit to you for all your works that may appear in the magazine. Here’s the link to my digital magazines: http://junsjazzimages.wordpress.com/digital-magazine/ I await your reply. Thanks! Happy weekend!

    • Hi! I’ve been out of the country for the past two weeks or so, but I would love to take part. Do you have anything particular in mind? Let me know if I’m too late or can still be included. Thank you so much for thinking of me and my photos.

    • Much thanks Ellen! Unfortunately I just published Issue #6 yesterday with 7 guest photographers, all women photo bloggers. But if its fine with you, I’ll be glad to feature you in Issue #7 which will come out middle or third week of March. I’ll reserve for you the first slot for the next batch of guest photographers for that upcoming Issue. Thanks again. Best regards!~JJ

    • That will actually work better, I will have had a chance to see and evaluate some vacation photos. How many are you looking for?

Reply if you like

